Hello Peeps,

I had an unfortunate situation with a fellow canine at my dog park last night. I needed to get stitches when it was all barked and done. Boo!

My Human feels extra bad because the situation seemed to be escalated by my big red ball. Seems the other doggy really wanted to have it for himself. Usually no other dogs give a poop about my big red ball.  But this dog in particular WAS interested. He chased and took my ball a few times, and I just let him have it… whatever… that’s cool. A few times the other dog growled and chased me when I chased my ball, and my Human noticed, but thought the other dog was only being vocal, as did the other dog’s Humans. That was true on a few runs of it… where he WAS just doing vocal stuff.

The last time I chased the ball, the other dog ran, turned and went after me instead of the ball. Things got hairy. I received some wounds that required the vet and some stitches. The other dog’s Humans came to the vet to meet us and covered my entire vet bill. They’ve also been periodically calling my Human to ask how I’m doing.

The Human feels terrible that she misread the body language and signs coming from the other dog.  They turned out to be more intense than she assessed them to be in her mind. She thought it was only vocality and did not anticipate it would escalate to the point that it did. When she recalls the events leading up to the mishap, she feels she should have taken the ball out of play as a precaution.

Mostly I’m writing to tell you:

1) what happened to me

2) that I am going to be OK and

3) to watch out for signs at the dog park (or any group dog setting), that dogs may be too competitive over the same toy… remove that toy to be safe

Perhaps even if it is just vocal signs of competition, it is better to be safe and remove the toy in question.

Play on my dogs!

Love,

The Lanther

PHOTO OF ME AND MY HUMAN THIS MORNING IN THE BACK YARD – SHE’S KISSING MY HEAD

Image